Chiang Mai & Laos

I figured I would share with yall some photos of my adventures over the past month or so. From Chiang Mai, in the North of Thailand and on into Luang Prabang, Laos…

Chiang Mai was a really nice spot. I holed up for about a week and half, rented a scooter and went on some tours to play with tigers, elephants and watch snake shows.

Chiang Mai, from my balcony.

I got to play with some tigers...

Think he could fit your head in there?

primates

Everybodies doing it!

I went to a snake show. If you watch the latest Rambo movie, the place I visited is the same place in the first 5-10 minutes of the movie, and the guy dancing with the snakes is Rambo’s assistant in the movie. I have movies I’ll put on youtube, I cant post movies on here because I’m broke and I would have to upgrade.

Rambo. John Rambo.

They offered a "happy ending" but I passed...

Cobras are gnarly.

He would kiss all of the cobras on the head... Rambos assistant.

I went to an elephant park that takes in abused elephants and gives them a good life. I got to spend an entire day with them, we fed them sugar cane and rode them up some hills for their daily exercise and then bathed them in a lake. They smelled a bit like sweaty ball sack. But man, what majestic animals.

The guide explaining how to get on and off of the elephants.

They would use whatever they could to scratch an itch, trees were the perfect solution.

A damn fine experience.

It was good trek to get to the border of Thailand and Laos. A four-hour ride in a van followed by two days on a slow boat traveling the Mekong river, finally arriving in Luang Prabang, Laos.

a really bizarre temple, Thailand

Crossing the border from Thailand into Laos

The boats cross the river from one country and into the next.

I was lucky enough to meet this weirdo while waiting for our visas. She talks funny because she's from Holland. Her name's Marianne.

Morning mist on the Mekong river.

Rice paddies

Saibadee (hello)

Not so bad.

Marianne and I traded glasses and mustaches.

Luang Prabang, Laos - one of the premier places I have been over the past 14 months.

Marianne and I took a 2 hour boat ride to a small town up river that only had electricity for 4 hours a night.

Daily life in the village.

Visiting a Luang Prabang school, Laos has some really beautiful people and they make some of the cutest kids ever.

Monks are everywhere throughout Thailand and Laos - though they were much friendlier in Laos.

I dove off that waterfall too!

Protecting the Buddha.

Can you see the resemblance?

Can you see the resemblance?

Ronald and I exchanging the Thai hello.

I am in Hanoi, Vietnam now. Where I will turn 33 years old tomorrow. March 21st 2011.

I head to Melbourne Australia on April 15th to work at Dynamic Tattoo for a month. I am incredibly excited to tattoo again.

While I have been here, Japan is going through hell. It seems like nature is challenging them at every turn. As if the earthquake and tsunami weren’t enough they are faced with freezing weather and snow. My heart goes out to them. Libya is going through it as well, with their own leader attacking and murdering civilians. Not far from where I am now, Burma (Myramar) is under a horrible regime. The world seems to be falling apart at the seams. All we can do is pull together and offer as much support as we can in whatever shape we can. Peace be with everyone that’s struggling and hurting right now.

JTG – Hanoi, Vietnam 20-03-2011

About jason tyler grace

I've been tattooing for 12 years or so and traveling the world for around 17 months. I have tattooed in Costa Rica, Panama, Peru, Bolivia, Argentina, Chile, Germany, France, Holland, and Australia. www.jasontylergrace.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

